Will I See You TODAY?

God wants to talk to you

As I rise in the morning I say, “Good morning, Lord!  Is today the day I will see You?”  As we live our day-to-day lives how many of us consider that thought?  Today could be the day of His return, OR today could be the day of our divine appointment.

Scripture says,
But he has appeared once for all at the culmination of the ages to do away with sin by the sacrifice of himself. 27 Just as people are destined to die once, and after that to face judgment, 28 so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many; and he will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for him.”  
What if today is your “divine appointment”?  

All of the plans you have made will mean nothing.  All of the honors and achievements of this life will mean nothing.  Every thought should be made captive to that idea.  All the ‘things’ that one strives to attain will, one day, belong to someone else.  The only lasting thing in this life is love and relationship.  When you share love with someone you are “watering” their garden.  Each person has a garden inside them that they plant with the help of the people and experiences that are in their lives.  If your tendencies are cynical your garden will be riddled with poisonous plants and weeds, but if your tendencies are more positive then your garden will be  a pleasant place to spend time.  If you are continually pouring poison into other people’s garden then you should not be surprised when everyone seems “against” you, or no one wants to  be around you.  Let me ask you a question.  If I set three glasses filled with drinks and I told you the one in the middle is poison.  The poison will kill you but only after hours of pain and torment.  Which one would you choose to drink?  My guess would be the one on the left or the right because you would not want the experience of the one in the middle.  What are we doing with a sour and cynical attitude but poisoning our lives with distrust, and negativity?

My mother, God rest her soul, lived through turmoil with my father and 6 children she bore and to deal with it she  became an alcoholic.  My mom was the most negative person I ever knew, when it came to herself, but when it came to her kids she was our biggest cheer-leader.  She would encourage us and lift us up even when we had proven ourselves untrustworthy.  She spent years in that cycle of getting up and going to work at 4:30 in the morning stopping on the way home to get a bottle of whiskey drinking herself unconscious.  In her mind if something bad could happen it would happen to her.  She died at 63 because in truth I believe her attitude had effectively killed her desire to live.

My first wife when I first married her was upbeat and energetic but over the years she lost her daughter to suicide and she herself became disabled.  She felt her life’s opportunity had passed her by and the only thing she acted like she wanted was death.  She became disheartened and towards the end her attitude moved from negative to hostile.  I believe she was trying to force me to leave her because she felt her disability was cheating me of life.  She died at 63 also.  Her care had become so costly it necessitated me to take a job traveling.  I was working with computers at hospitals around the country and I was in Hattiesburg Mississippi when I took the phone call from the hospital where my wife was.  That was an extremely hard day.  The nurse kept me on the phone while they were working on her until she very abruptly discontinued the call.  In just a few minutes she called me back and told me what I already knew in my heart.

God has blessed me with a very good woman.  My second wife, Kristi, who has a heart for God.  Her background is in education with children with special needs.  I knew with my background I was carrying a lot of baggage so, before we were married, we went through Christian premarital counselling together.  I wanted to know what I would be facing from her background, and I wanted her to know about my background.  I wanted no ‘ghost’ to come between us.  It has been almost 5 years since my first wife passed away and even still today I will make the slip and mention her name and I ALWAYS apologize immediately.  Kristi and I are coming up on our third anniversary and I am so blessed and thankful for her.  She knows she is married to a bonehead and I hope she never bends my head with a skillet.  The one thing I do every day is tell her how important she is to me always telling her I love her.

I told you all that in order to tell you this, as you live your life then live it as if TODAY will be your very last day on earth.  The people you meet today treat them as if TODAY is the very last time you will see them… it just may be.  You need to show the people in your life how much you love them.  If there is someone who has hurt you deeply, forgive them because in Matthew chapter 6 verse 12 it says, 12 and forgive us our sins, just as we have forgiven those who have sinned against us.” If you have hurt someone YOU seek that person’s forgiveness.  Follow God’s will for your life.  Here is where you will ask, ‘what is God’s will for my life?’  Glad you asked.  Scripture says in 1st Thessalonians chapter 5 verses 16 through 19 just what we should be doing on a daily basis, and it says this:
16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.19 Do not quench the Spirit.”

 Remember always, God loves you and wants a relationship with YOU.  Live your life as if TODAY is your divine appointment.  If you are a Christian and are on your way to Heaven take people with you.  If you are not a Christian always remember God loves you and wants a relationship with you.  Love people, God does!  Just sayin’

One thought on “Will I See You TODAY?

Leave a Reply

