Get the Evidence!! Get the Evidence!!

faith1

In the increasingly complex turmoil in our society there are many difficult questions.  As we stand and try to live a morally pleasing life for God we are assaulted from every side that there is NO right or wrong.  People will attack you if you proclaim there is a moral standard to be followed.  Scripture says in the end-times people will be lovers of themselves and everyone will follow their own way.  If you profess to be a follower of Christ my question to you is, if you were accused of “being a Christian” would there be enough evidence in your life to convict you?  Does your life look any different than your “unsaved” neighbor?  Scripture says we will be known for our love one for another and there is very little evidence of that in many believers lives.

What does that ‘love one or another’ look like?  When we were of the world our focus was strictly on ourselves but when we were called to believe in Christ we were supposed to be a new creature.  What does it mean to become a new creature in Christ?  I believe it means that suddenly our concern for ourselves is taken off the top shelf and our concern for others should be foremost in our minds.  Does that mean we are to give up everything, to give everything away for the betterment of others?  I don’t really think so.  Abraham was one of the richest men of his day.  The difference in Abraham and the others of his day is he had faith in the Almighty.  Consider King Solomon when the Lord came near and asked what He could do for him Solomon asked for wisdom to guide the people with.  God gave him wisdom and riches far beyond his dreams.

If we seek God with our whole hearts we will be blessed beyond what we can imagine.  Am I saying seek and worship God to get “stuff”?  No, I am saying don’t worry about stuff and seek the creator of life because you love God and God loves you and you won’t EVER worry about STUFF.  Not because you will have stuff but because you will find yourself unconcerned about stuff.  Stuff can be replaced but people cannot be replaced.  The company I work for knows if I have the choice of working or going home to my family then there is no choice, my family wins… ALWAYS!  I can get another job.  I can get another car.  I can get another house.  God has given my an awesome wife and I choose her.

Now, back to my original question.  If you were accused of being a Christian would there be enough evidence in your life to convict you?  I am a believer in Jesus Christ as the virgin born Son of God that lived a sinless life.  He healed the, lepers, blind and crippled.  He raised the dead back to life, and set the disciples on the path to righteousness.  He died a criminal’s death even though Pontious Pilot found no fault in Him.  Then on the third day God raised Jesus back to life as He became the first born from the dead.  It is our belief in the Holy Sacrifice provided by God for our righteousness when we believe in faith that obtains our salvation because of God’s mercy.  So again I will ask, would there be enough evidence?  You can ask people if they think they will go to Heaven and you will get many different answers from, “I believe I am a good person,” to “I believe in Jesus”.  If you believe in Jesus what are you doing about it?  In the book of James he plainly states that faith without works is dead.  There was a longtime I thought James and Paul had opposing view points but I found where Paul said we are not saved by good works but we are saved FOR good works that were prepared before hand for us to do.  James and Paul were saying the same thing just splitting hairs to say it.  So, if you believe but have no fruit to show let’s see what James had to say about it.

James 2:18-20New International Version (NIV)

18 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”

Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds.19 You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.

20 You foolish person, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless?

I pray when the day comes and they accuse me there is evidence in my life that proves I am a follower of my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ to the glory of God the Father.  AMEN!

Leave a Reply

